Perfectly Blue – No Reversal

by on June 4, 2010 updated April 19, 2014

 It was all a little too much to ask for, having a blown call reversed in baseball. The MLB, at the present time, just isn’t set up to work that way. In fact, no sport seems to be designed with an option of allowing changes to be made post-game.

 So when the errant umpire blew the call and cost the Detroit Tigers pitcher a perfect game it might as well have been carved in stone. In fact it was. It’s time to record this event for future reference and move on. Perhaps in the future some calls in baseball may be able to be reversed during the game. But it’s pretty unreasonable to expect a call to be changed the next day. Things just don’t work that way.

edrouant

Eric Drouant has written 1132 post in this blog.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: